New York Indian Film Festival 2012

NYIFF Congratulates National Award Winners


Onir (l) and Sanjay Suri of "I Am" are among the winners of the National Awards.


Following the announcement of the National Awards (I-W, Mar. 16), the New York Indian Film Festival Mar. 19 congratulated six filmmakers and artists who had premiered their films or received accolades at the festival:

• Onir and Sanjay Suri for “I Am,” winner for best Hindi film;
• Neeta Lula for “Bal Gandharva,” winner for best costume design;
• Anand Bhate for “Bal Gandharva,” winner for best male playback singer;
• Ann Abraham for Abhay Kumar’s “Just that Sort of Day,” winner for best narrative voice;
• Spandan Banerjee’s “You Don’t Belong,” winner of Special Mention Certificate; and
• Indraneel Ghosh for Rituparno Ghosh’s “Naukadubi,” winner for best production design.

“We are so proud of our NYIFF family for being recognized for their tremendous hard work and talent at the national level,” Aroon Shivdasani, IAAC executive director, said in a statement. This year, the NYIFF will be held from May 23-27 at the Tribeca Cinemas. 


New York Indian Film Festival
Site designed and maintained by InfoBridge